SPORT - AFR Midnight Rambler declared the IRC Overall Winner

SPORT - AFR Midnight Rambler declared the IRC Overall Winner

1300hrs, July 28, 2009 - At 1300hrs this afternoon, Ed Psaltis and Bob Thomas’s modified Farr 40 AFR Midnight Rambler

was declared the IRC Overall Winner of the 24th Audi Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race.

After a long, tough and hard race, but one that was strangely emotional, owner Ed Psaltis was very pleased to be informed of his IRC Overall win by Commodore Matt Allen.

“This IRC overall win means a lot to us — it has been the only East Coast ocean race that we hadn’t won overall — and now we have so it’s truly outstanding,” said Psaltis.

Co-owner Bob Thomas said: “Ed and the crew put a lot of work into the boat, so that she was ready to perform to her best. Ed was the key driver of all the boat modifications and with her new sail wardrobe she performed to her best. I think this race was one of the hardest races I’ve done in a long time — harder than the last five Hobarts and probably the hardest the boat has done in our overall win in the 1998 Hobart.

“The boat hasn’t had its fair share of luck, but she survived the whole race without a crack in the paintwork, all due to the diligent work of our crew. I thank the crew for all their efforts in this race, and look forward to working with them over the season,” he said.

For Ed and Bob, the victory also marks the commencement of their campaign in the CYCA’s Blue Water Championship, which the duo won in 2006/07. They are looking forward to a strong performance this series and a possible second title.

Commodore Matt Allen said: “AFR Midnight Rambler is a well-sailed boat and as a modified Farr 40, she performs well in light to moderate airs. Ed Psaltis and Bob Thomas have been tireless campaigners of the CYCA’s Blue Water Pointscore series and sailing program as well as achieving some good results in most East Coast ocean races including Rolex Sydney Hobart, Mooloolaba and Gosford Howe Island.

“This race had many battles — the battle for line honours, the IRC Overall and the battle of the 50-footers. It was also interesting to watch the race between the smaller boats in the fleet including Rod Jones’ Archambault 40 Alegria, Henk Wellemen’s Sydney 36CR Aileron and Anthony Paterson’s Kerr 11.3 Tow Truck,” he said.

Other provisional division winners that have been declared include:

IRC Division O
Wild Oats X (Reichel Pugh 66) Bob Oatley, NSW
2nd – Black Jack (Reichel Pugh 66) Peter Harburg, QLD

IRC Division 1
1st – Scarlett Runner (Reichel Pugh 52) Robert Date, VIC
2nd – Yendys (Reichel Pugh 55) Geoff Ross, NSW
3rd – Wot Now (Judel Vrolijik 52) Graeme Wood, NSW

IRC Division 2
1st – AFR Midnight Rambler (Farr 40 MOD) Ed Psaltis & Bob Thomas, NSW
2nd – Tow Truck (Kerr 11.3) Anthony Paterson, NSW
3rd – Fresh (Sydney 47), Kym Clarke , SA

With boats still to finish IRC Division 4 and PHS Division 2, no results have been declared, however, Henk Wellemen’s Sydney 36CR Aileron currently leads IRC Division 4, with Michael Martin’s Sayer 40 Frantic currently leading PHS Division 2.

IRC Division 3 and PHS Division 1 results are subject to protest hearings which the National Jury, chaired by John Kirkjian, will hear this evening at 1730hrs.

The official prizegiving will be held at Southport Yacht Club at 1000hrs tomorrow, Wednesday, July 29, 2009.

Race results and divisional results will be updated on the official race website (visit as yachts finish.

Photo: AFR Midnight Rambler.